2 Q'S: American Starting It Consulting Biz, And Marriage

macnmotion

Hi, I've been reading your answers and have found some useful information. I have two questions:

1) I have lived in BKK one year (US Citizen) and have been working for 7 months under a work permit with a company. I will be leaving this job in 6 weeks. I am researching other full time opportunities, but am interested more in doing consulting work (that's what I have been doing in USA for many years). From your advice, it seems I should talk with the BOI concerning setting up an IT consulting biz. If I create a Thai company (myself and 2 others), how can I work for that company as a foreigner and get a work permit? I thought the ratio had to be 4:1 in order for a foreigner to do this. So how can a foreigner get a work permit as the sole consultant under this type of business structure (or any structure)?

2) I am engaged to a woman with both Thai and USA citizenship. From what I understand if we get married here it puts her property holdings at risk? Since may of her holdings are also in the names of various family members it puts their holdings at risk too? But what if we got married in the USA since we both have citizenship there? How are her and her family's holdings affected then? Is there a place I can get detailed information about all of this? It seems everyone has their own opinion but nobody give the same answer. I have an appt set with the US Embassy in Bangkok, but thought I'd check here too.

Thanks.

Registering a company in Thailand based on BOI entitles you to certain benefits and incentives. Such incentives include but not limited to the following:

1) Basic Incentives

The BOI offers two kinds of incentives to promoted projects, regardless of location: tax incentives and non-tax incentives.

a) Tax-based incentives include exemption or reduction of import duties on machinery and raw materials, and corporate income tax exemptions.