A Few Brief Questions Around Teaching In Thailand

BobbyL

Hi

Im a 23 year old male from England, I've got a bachelors degree in Sports Science & Coaching, and I have just completed a 140 hour TEFL course which consisted of a 20 hour pratical weekend with the rest being done online. Through my degree I have reasonable experience of P.E teaching and sports coaching at primary school level (7-11), however no classroom based teaching experience. I'm planning on flying out to Bangkok in Jan/Feb time to find a job as an English teacher, I know someone who lives in Bangkok but he works in TV so has no knowledge of teaching English etc, so a few questions I have got are:

1. Is the fact that I have no classroom based teaching experience a big problem?

2. Is it better to find a job from England?, Or is it relatively easy to find some sort of teaching work once I'm out their within a few weeks or so? Also any issues regarding term times etc

3. And finally dress code, I read somewhere on the internet an English teacher is expected to wear shirt, trousers and shoes, Im assuming thats the case?

Any help, answers or advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

You will likely encounter some time lag in finding full-time employment. January/February is not a good time for regular school work. March and April are the big recruitment months for schools and May is the start of the regular school term.

So bring enough money to survive for a couple of months.

Language schools hire throughout the year, but this is usually hourly work.

Long-sleeved dress shirt and tie are what is usually required.

Best of luck.

Why not look for a PE teaching job at one of the International schools, they sometimes advertise those kind of positions.

*direct link not allowed*

Get a full time position as a PE teacher, then a part time or weekend job using your TEFL in a language centre.

Edited by Scott
Unallowed link edited out