You Need New Spectacles?

khunblue

I recently visited xxxxxx in CR and ordered new ,Vari-focal, photchromatic, NON scratch, spectacles @ 9000 thb.

After several days i went for a fitting only to discover that I could not see out of my new glasses. They discovered that they had installed the right lens in the left and so on! After several more days I returned to collect my glasses. After only 2 months the lenses began to SCRATCH very badly! I was then informed that i was cleaning the glasses wrong!

I have been wearing glasses for 55 years and i am sure that I now know how to clean them?

When i returned, yet again, I was informed that I needed a new eye test and would need to purchase new glasses..............................more money!!!

I hasten to say that I did not order again from "xxxxxx" and recommend that anyone considering should do the same.

Edited by thaiphoon
Name removed. No naming and shaming on ThaiVisa

Khunblue:

What were you cleaning them with? I also got non-scratch, coated lenses and my optician told me to to never clean them with cloth but to use toilet paper or similar tissues to dry them after rinsing with water and soap. I have been religious about that and the glasses are 10 years old (my prescription has not changed over the years) and the lenses are as unscratched as they were when I got them. Of course, if they didn't tell you how to properly clean them, bad on them.

David

The opticians on the opposite side of the road are good, looks like I can't write their name but it has an orange sign. They have a good promotion too, buy one get one, my wife recently bought some new glasses which were 9000 for the frames and 2000 for the lenses and I got a pair of 10,000 Ray Bans free.

My budget for glasses does not allow me to go to the expensive opticians on the Main road so I go where the Thais are buying their glasses.