Bangkok Private Equity / Hedge Fund / Investment Management

Please could someone advise on what is the best way for me to find an investment management job in Bangkok?

Which are the biggest Private Equity firms / Hedge Funds / Investment Management firms in Bangkok?

How much can I expect to earn in Bangkok for a job requiring 5-7 years experience?

I am British and have a degree from Oxford University. I have several years of work experience, having worked in Investment Banking and in Investment Management (both in London).

My Wife is Thai and we are trying to relocate permanently to Thailand.

Any advice or thoughts would be much appreciated

I think there are very few focused on just Thailand though they must exist. There are many more in Singapore though Singapore is certainly not as fun as Thailand. I have the same experience in the same industry as you and once spent some time looking for work in Thailand without success, hopefully you will have more success.

I am working in a similar field (more on the quant side than IB) and have been browsing the Thai job boards for years (admittedly only sporadically). My fiance and I are not thinking about relocating for another couple years, but it never hurts to be a bit informed in that department. Based on historical data, you'd see the odd opportunity come up like once every half year (as IB is a bit broader it might be better). For me it'd thus either be Singapore or HK when relocating to SEA with the former being the first choice. Other choice would be to start up a prop shop myself at some stage.

Edit: the only boutique type IB I've come across is http://www.thequantgroup.com/index.php. Not sure why they'd be calling themselves that as I dont see any quanty type stuff in their services rendered.

Edited by hoppla