So Starting Off In 2 Days To The North From Phangan. Searching For Advice

mrkrabs

Well, since I am now writing this the third time (1 time win update, 1 time firefox crash), I decided to shorten things a little.

So we are going to the north in two days, up to Laos, and are planing on exploring the waters that we pass. Since this is my first time fishing in Thailand (after only living here for 15 months :whistling:), I pretty much have no clue, where, what, when about fishing in Thailand in general.

Am not interested in saltwater or "fishing parks" (has nothing to do with fishing). I prefer rivers of middle sizes (ca 50 - 100m wide) or not too big lakes. Actually river fishing is my favorite thing, that I was doing exessivly in Germany on Rhein river.

I recently imported all my equipment which is quite heavy. In Germany I was hunting only cats (up to 70kg) and Zanders and Pikes. So my equipment is set and ready for those sizes. I prefer not catching anything for 10 nights, but then 1 big one, over 100 x 1kg fishes.

So of course, fishing in a new country is always difficult, especially 10k km away from home, where there is nothing like at our place. I was reading some, but that did not really answere my specific newbie questions I have.

So at first I would love to know about interesting water on the way to the north, especially rivers. Those should be at least 1 1/2 meters deep and not giant. And next to that, it would be very nice to know, what fishes there are existing and the possibilie of them even being there. So it would not help to mention for example mekong cat, when only 1 is existing in the stream of 80km. But also no need to be 100 existing on 50squaremeters. So helping would types that in general there are existing, mainly going in the direction of 5kg+. Also I prefer hunters.

Snakeheads are very interesting as well. Are they common in rivers, or more likely in lakes? Best method using spinnfishing, or bait / live bait?