Fast Growing Trees

I have just purchased a plot of land to build a house on, problem is I am boarded by houses overlooking my plot.

As I don't intend building anything for a year I want to make an immediate start on planting trees that will be of a reasonable size (not fully grown obviously) by the time we start to build, so that when building is complete we will have some privacy.

Before you ask, why did I buy land that's bordered by other houses when there is tons of land available without houses around them. Long answer short, its the plot next to my current house :D I've been putting off buying it very successfully for 6 years, but now with only 4 plots remaining on the Moo Baan I now have to buy or risk losing all my privacy. Land size is 120sq wah.

I live in CM , so if anyone knows the types of trees I should buy, where should I get them and roughly how much would they cost each, how far apart do you grown them?

In the UK I would plump for fast growing conifers, but I have some in my garden already and they don't seem fast growing at all :(

Anyway any responses would be very much appreciated

Thanks for reading

TP

you might be better off growing some bamboo as a sceening hedges and planting the trees you want behind the bamboo hedging as the trees gain the requirede height you could remove the bamboo or keep it and use the long lengths for garden tasks or harvest the shoots for the tucker box

if you want a quick screen try cassava (potato)grows quick as grass and nice foliage,chop it down and it pops up again in a few weeks , you can plant something else between for the longer term

David006 does have a good point TP. These cassava plant were 6 months old when this photo was taken.

post-91169-0-80797100-1298637765_thumb.j

Eucalyptus is easy to grow, makes nice rows, can be planted very close.

In about one year you will have your privacy.

They go for 1 Baht or so.

Where I am, they are sold roadside just about anywhere.

Good luck!