Indian Spices Bulk Quantities In Thailand?

j1ngj1ng

Hi,

I am a chef, and so is my Thai wife. We like to cook a range of foods, most of the time for the fun of it.

I love Indian food, because of the diverse range of sauces.

In Udon where we live, -does anyone know where to get spices used in Indian cuisine in bulk quantity?

And, in greater -Thailand?

Can I order from stores in Bangkok or somewhere else (flood stories aside)?

Does anyone know good spice import companies in Thailand?

What's the best way to import spices in bulk that are already packaged for retail sale? (e.g. likely to have already undergone their import tariffs).

I know how to make several "bases" e.g. mixes of spices that form various types of "masala", like "garam masala" that can be used in Channa Masala, or Korma, etc.

The spices per se are usually available in Thailand, they consist of:

• Mustard seeds (Rai/Sarson)
  • Saffron (Kesar) threads
  • Green bruised Cardamom (Elaichi) pods
  • ground Nutmeg (Jaiphal)
  • coriander seeds
  • cumin seeds (Jeera)
  • black peppercorns
  • green Pepper corns (Kalimirchi)
  • White Pepper corn
  • Turmeric
  • black cumin seeds (shahjeera)
  • dry ginger
  • black cardamom (3-4 large pods approx)
  • cloves
  • bay leaves

And to illustrate what I am trying to so, I am heating some of the above spices together in a hot iron skillet, and then removing the chaff (hulls, stems), and then grinding the roasted spices into a fine (or coarse) power, and storing them for later use within 3 months.

Our neighbors process quite a few Halal foods in bulk, and trade them locally for other goods.

We'd like to do the same using as many ingredients from within Thailand as possible, and find import sources for the rest.

-j1ngj1ng

Edited by j1ngj1ng