Birding And Bird Photography In Thailand

garyk

Been here for 2 years now and am into wildlife photography. Mainly birds.

Just wondering if anyone here is into wildlife photography,,,, not the two legged kind. smile.gif well maybe.LOL

If so let me know if you have any shots and where. I am a farang here traveling and birding.

Web page: www.flickr.com/photos/avianphotos

6552627903_ed1ec6c10c_z.jpg

Hello Garyk. Nice photo!

I am a photographer, but I'm not into bird or wildlife photography.

However, I'd like to ask you a quick question. Have you seen any humming birds here in Thailand?

There are no Hummingbirds in Thailand.

Many people confuse the various local species of Sunbirds with Hummingbrds however.

Patrick

For info on birding I would suggest Nick Uption's Thaibriding.com and for Wildlife, Paul Whitehead's Wildlifethailand.com. there's a whole bunch of links on Paul's site for other Thai wildlife related sites.

Sorry a typo - Thaibirding.com

Edited by MRToMRT

A flower-pecker perhaps.

It would almost certainly be a Sunbird; these birds bills are specifically designed (long and curved) to push deep into the flowers nectary as they hover at the entrance to the bloom to feed on the nectar or insects.

Flowerpeckers have shorter, stubbier bills, again designed for their own species' particular feeding method which is to break through the Sepal at the base of the flower - from the outside - and access the nectary that way. Hence of course the name Flowerpecker.

Patrick

Since there is a topic on birds thought I would throw one in. This is just a test of my new GH2 and 100-300 mm (200-600 35mm equivalent) Lumix lens and just a regular bird. About 25-30 meters away. I cropped out about 60% just to get an idea of sharpness with the lens and 16Mpixels sensor. Rather basic shot compared to the others posted here. Enough though that I now want to pursue this more.

post-566-0-95250000-1325262443_thumb.jpg

This is the uncropped version, just scaled down: