Face Masks?

zziffle

Here's some late breaking news: the quality of life in Chiang Mai is better than the quality of the air.

I've been here for about 2 months now and have developed a chronic mild sore throat and occasional cough. I suspect it stems from sucking in the fumes while bicycling and scootering around town.

Has anyone tried and had success with wearing a face mask while out in traffic? I don't mind looking like a dork if it improves my health.

According to my doctor those cheap face masks and cloth mouth coverings do little more than keep flies and mosquitoes out of your mouth. They may be a considerate item to wear if you yourself have a cold, diminishing contamination to others especially when sneezing or coughing, but for the most part they're just for show.

I have no knowledge of any particular masks, but can confirm that the cloth types are useless for anything but keeping insects and particles out of your nose and mouth. The gases present in the air will still cause you grief.

I think you'd probably need a serious type respirator format face mask with several levels of filter, including charcoal, before there would be any benefit. They can be difficult to breathe through because of the 'drag' created by pulling/pushing air through filter elements.

Ok, I've done some googling on this and will answer my own post with some of the info I found.