BANGKOK
Sign in to follow this  
lonexpat

3Rd Teacher Waiver Refusal

I, like many others now face the prospect of having to leave Thailand in search of new pastures. For me pesonally, I have been teaching for eight years, with a work permit and I am a single parent. I lack any formal qualifications so I am unable to sit the exams set by the TCT. Now it"s well know that no teacher waiver equals no extension of stay which equals no work permit.Does anyone think any of the following options are feasible.Have the school deal directly with immigration and therefore bypassing the TCT rules. Receiving an extention of stay based on having a child and then applying for a work permit. Going back to the beginning and starting an IGCSE course.Proberly not sufficent but it does show that I"m trying to improve myself which I believe all what all these new changes are for

• Like 1

I'm sorry to hear about your situation, lonexpat. Already in the early days, talking about 2007, it seemed inevitable to me that the TCT rules set in June 2006 would change.

Have the school deal directly with immigration and therefore bypassing the TCT rules. Receiving an extention of stay based on having a child and then applying for a work permit.

As of 2010 many Labour Offices also require copies of the provisional teaching permit' date=' the teacher license of proof that you are exempt. Therefore, letting your school handle the case with Immigration or having a non-immigrant O (spouse) visa might not work. Further information can be found here under WP.1 and WP.5. http://wp.doe.go.th/en/downloadform

It's reported that The Teachers' Council of Thailand will grant a second or third provisional teaching permit when the applicant can prove that the applicant has sat the Thai Language, Culture and Ethics Course or the TCT Professional Knowledge tests. I haven't heard that provisional teaching permits were granted because the applicant was ongoing in pursuing a university degree or similar.