Building Permit

I know that the house plan has to be certified by the architect or the engineer., in order to get the building permit. Is this correct?

Does anyone know if those architect and engineer have to be thai and having thai license only? Can it be stamped by the US engineer? I'm a certified engineer, having my own engineering firm and can certified in 4 western states including California and Hawaii, will they accept it?

We're planning to build a vacation home somewhere in SriRasha or Chonburi area

Many thanks for your help in advance

I am a licensed professional engineer. I would never stamp a set of plans in Thailand because I do not know the codes in Thailand. To stamp a document as a licensed engineer you are certifying that the document stamped meets legal requirements as well as accepted engineering practice.....its the legal requirements for house construction that I do not know......perhaps you are more knowledgeable in this area than me.....also, be aware that you will be practicing engineering outside the region where your license (assuming that you are licensed) is valid and stamping a document outside the region you are licensed in at least in theory leaves you open to sanctions. I don't know what a "certified engineer" is. Is it the same as a licensed professional enginee?.

Also, in the US you usually don't have to have any certification to draw up house plans for your own home as long as the details of your drawing are all standard items and appear in the UBC (Universal Building Code) or the local code books used in a jurisdiction.

Edited by chownah

My advice is 'Play the Game'.

Take your plans to the local authority and speak to the approved architect, ask him to advise on how to get your plans approved. Offer the plans and ask him if they seem OK to him and if he is able to offer advice and/or would he be prepared to make any alterations to the drawings to bring them into line.