Checking A House'S Building Quality

manarak

Hello all

I'm in the process of acquiring a house and since I am no expert on the topic, I would like that a real expert takes a good look at building quality before I buy.

Who can please recommend some names?

• Like 1

Don't think they have such a thing as building surveyors here unless you find a Farang that was one in his previous life.

that's exactly what I am looking for!

btw, the house has been farang-built

Edited by manarak

Caveat Emptor is normal in Thailand , particularly in the Housing Industry.

Farang Built means supervising Thais that already have their standards & no Farang is going to change them.

IMO

violin.gif

Farang Built means supervising Thais that already have their standards & no Farang is going to change them.

IMO

violin.gif Exactly,but I think the buildings 10 years or so ago were quite well built,the stuff after that was pure garbage. Looked at a place a while ago,quite expensive place too,the floor tiles were lifting in one area on the ground floor so dug around a bit and the smell of rotting vegetation,(probably methane) was overpowering,just 5 years old and falling apart,including crumbling foundations,cannot fix that problem.

Think a core sample taken from anywhere in the place your looking at will be required,but all you will receive is a bag of dust.

This subject ,and buying property has been done to death on so many occasions, it gets brain numbing. Google your enquiry putting in Bangkok,...somone independent of Pattaya,might get you a more reasoned and honest report

Don't think they have such a thing as building surveyors here unless you find a Farang that was one in his previous life.

Or unless you were a barow boy in a previous life and reinvented yourself as a surveyor after you arrived in Pattaya.

• Like 1