What Is "a Recognised Tefl/tesol Certificate"& Why

pumper

what is "a recognised TEFL/TESOL certificate" & why?

I see ads for a variety of Acronyms:

trinity, CELTA, TESL, TESOL Training; Accredited ESL Certificate, Diploma ...

what countries education system accepts such certificates.. 4 weeks to a sheep skin..

thirld world only? Asia? US? EU?

there are 'similar classes' offered world wide .. with an amazing consistency of price!

my out of pocket cost beyond tuition: room, food, entertainment, varies significantly per local .. BUT, 6 weeks in Brazil, China, Spain ..

interesting options, Same Same?

The Land of Smiles is my primary focus.

as a non thai resident I expecting a total cost of over $4000 .. $5,000.. ######!

to take the class.. air, room, school, 'cultural exchange projects'. et al ..

+ time & energy to complete 'home work' ..

This is a major committment & I am seeking help in maximizing my return on investment.

You working teachers out there: In hind sight what would you have done differently in educational & vocational paths?

In hind sight what would you have done differently in educational & vocational paths?

I would have completed my BA degree when I should have, many years ago. Now I am in the process of going back to university to get it at 38 years of age. I am very motivated to study this time. Back in the day I just wanted to smoke pot, cut class and go surfing. I recently completed a CELTA to give me a leg up in finding part time work while I study.

"Recognized" means whatever the hiring person thinks it means. Probably, it means a course he's heard a couple of good things about. In Thailand, they've probably all heard of CELTA, Text'n'Talk, TEFLInternational, and.....maybe others.