Linux Mint Newbie--Hdmi No Audio

up-country_sinclair

Hi,

I'm very new to Linux and would really appreciate some help trying to get it set up properly.

I've been checking out various LInux forums, but haven't had any luck solving this problem:

I can't get any audio through my HDMI cable. I tried following this suggestion:

1. Make sure the System Sound Preferences Hardware Profile is set to one of the analog sound options, e.g., Analog Stereo Duplex

2. open Terminal and run "alsamixer". Unmute all the S/PDIF outputs, e.g., I had S/PDIF, S/PDIF Def and S/PDIF 1, and had to unmute two of them. That left Master, PCM, and all S/PDIF's unmuted. Hit Esc to exit alsamixer.

3. Still in Terminal, run "gstreamer-properties". in the window titled Multimedia Systems Selector, set the Default Output Plugin: to Alsa - Advanced Linux Sound Architecture. Try Pipeline Test to be sure you get HDMI/TV sound output. Close that window.

4.Go back to System Sound Preferences Hardware Profile and select one of the HDMI output options, e.g., Digital Stereo (HDMI) Output + Analog Stereo Input. Test Speakers to make sure you get left and right sound through the TV/Monitor.

5. That's it. Close up. Enjoy HDMI sound.

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=93442

But I had no luck. However, that could be due to the fact that I'm so inexperienced at using Linux.

Does anyone here have any other suggestions on how I might be able to get audio?

Thanks very much.

UCS

Hi,

what sort of computer (brand/processor speed/installed RAM) are you using?

Which linux system are you trying?

Might be easier to download another linux distribution, load onto a usb stick [using unetbootin (google it)...]

I've tested about 6 versions this week - Mint 13, Lubuntu 12, racy puppy, Xubuntu 12.04, etc.

I would really recommend linuxmint 11 - looks good, and can get it to run pretty fast (toshiba NB305/1.66 Ghz/2 Gb RAM). After all the testing of other versions, I reinstalled LM11. AA