Yasothon

appleman_thai

In my opinion, possibly the least attractive town in Isaan. I have been visiting there for 11 years sometimes even staying a few nights. It has the yearly rocket festival but I believe that was banned for a few years due to so many deaths.

It is hotter than a lot of Isaan and is always short of water -- except when it floods. My wife's family only started to plant rice last week. I had one great Songkran there 10 years back but now that sometimes doesn't happen because of the water shortage.

Don't know about the ex-pat scene but there was a similar topic in this forum around 6 months ago.

Biggest attraction is the excellent Big C a few kliks out of town.

I would try a two week stay in a hotel first -- some new ones built in the past few years.

Hi Appleman,

My wife's family lives a few Kms south of Yaso, so I am there quite often. I have yet to find a "Farang" bar or restaurant. but there are a few Farang friendly places. I usually stay at PP Masion Hotel in town. They have a nice Restaurant/Bar that usually has sports on. Not sure about English. Perhaps the bar at the JP Emerald hotel might have Football in English, not sure.

If you are a Golfer, there is a GREAT course (for Isaan) at the Army Base about 9 KM's north of town. Carts, Caddys, and a pretty course set in the forest.

Best of Luck

I've been living for a year and half in the rice fields about 40 minutes drive from Yasothon City.

Suited me fine at the time.

I moved into the city a few weeks ago with the objective of finding a decent place to live and to setup a small little business which my wife would run.

We've been looking for quite a while and driving in and out regularly. However, most places were booked already - most being booked off plans! I cant get over the number of new buildings going up all over the place!

The Green Park Hotel is definitely the best hotel..... new, clean and the Manager speaks excellent English. Its not expensive either.