U.s. Fully Certified Teacher: Trouble Finding Work In Chiang Mai

Hi all,

I am currently teaching in the United States, but I'm looking to relocate to Chiang Mai, Thailand. My partner of 4 years is being stationed in Chiang Mai for his job with the U.S. government, so I'd prefer to teach in Chiang Mai-- though I can flex on my teaching location if I have to. I have a bachelors degree in Secondary Education from a Big 10 University in the United States. I am fully certified to teach secondary Social Studies and secondary English Language Arts. I have taught English Language Arts full-time at the 7th grade level for two years in the U.S. I also taught A.P. Psychology, Civics/Government, World History, and U.S. History during my teacher training hours and student teaching. Additionally, I am wrapping up my corps member commitment with the prestigious American non-profit organization Teach For America. I've had many ESL students in my classrooms in the past and I have volunteered as an ESL tutor with a local non-profit organization.

I have submitted my cover letter, CV/resume, and photo to every international school in Chiang Mai. The exceptions being a Christian school that wants volunteer teachers and a school looking for teachers that speak German. Even though most of these international schools don't start unti August, only one is hiring for positions I am qualified for. That being said, I doubt I will make their short list as they want someone with IB teacher certification.

Ideally I would like to teach at an international school in Chiang Mai, but as of right now that is not looking promising. Here are my questions for any folks out there with helpful advice.: