My Dog Is Chasin&killing Neighbor's Chickens- Any Suggestions

jcb2001

I live on 5 rai of land in rural Ubon. I have 2 great male dogs that guard our property. One is about 2 years old and loves everyone that comes by to visit. Very docile around people, but has a bad habit of hunting all the neighbors chickens. He started by chasing them out of our yard, but now is hunting them in the neighbor's land for fun.

Does anyone have any suggestions or ideas on how to break this dog of chasing and killing the neighbor's chickens?

• Like 1

• Replies 169
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Why would you want to stop them. I encourage my dogs to kill or chase out anything that comes into my 1 rai backyard at the farm. Mind you, I do have make sure the dogs aren't let out of the yard on their own as the MIL isn't impressed when they kill her ducks or rabbits

I'm not an expert but have always understood that once a dog gets a taste of killing something like that, it's pretty impossible to stop them. Except to build the fence somebody else suggested. I'd fence them anyway for their own protection.

• Like 2

Here is the technique used by a "priest" dog trainer. Put in a large burlap sack, together dog and chicken, hang the bag in the air, and carefully tap with a stick on the dog. The dog will believe that it is the chicken that did it, and he will never again touch a chicken.

• Like 2

Your dog needs training - reinforcement and reward is much more effective than "punishment" as dogs are seldom aware of what they are being punished for.

Many people blame foxes on the death of their chickens ducks etc, but more often than not it is dogs that do the damage.......(foxes often come after around looking for carrion.)

In essence you have to train your dog to come to heel or STOP when you tell them......this is perfectly possible with patience and little treats.