Advice Needed.

Last year when I arrived in LOS I was offered a teaching job in Ang Thong.It would of involved teaching english to kids around the age of 7.They were offering me good money,but I turned it down because I've no teaching experience or qualifications.

We have a house in Ang Thong (although we live in Nonthaburi) ,and now the other half has decided she wants to move to Ang Thong.She has told her niece,who is a teacher at the school that offered me the job,and now they're pleading with me to come and work with them.I've reiterated that I've no qualifications but they said that they would sort everything out for me.

Last year I wasn't interested but now I see it as a challenge.I could probably learn as much from the kids as they could from me.The thing that worries me is if the school carry out some sort of dodgy dealings to get me a WP etc..... will this all come back to bite me in the ass ?.

I'm sure there's been other people here that have been in this position,and I'd sure love to hear what advice they could give me.

Vinny

Working illegally is always a risk. Depending on the type of visa you have, they may actually be able to get you a Work Permit under a different classification than a teacher.

In most cases, they just let people work without a work permit.

• Like 1

It varies from province to province, but if they'll provide all the needed paperwork that you can obtain a work permit, you'll be fine.

That's even possible on a Non-O based on marriage, or a Non-O retirement visa.You don't have to be on a Non-B visa for that purpose anymore.

Having the right "connections" will make it easy to change your job title from being a teacher, let's say to a trainer, or teacher's assistant.

Just give it a try, you might like it a lot. If not, just don't do it. Good luck!-wai2.gif

Edited by sirchai