Engineer in the house?

Manassas

My wife's nephew is building a new house near us in the village. It's giving me the chance to see the local construction techniques. This is interesting as we plan to renovate our house (or just start over.) The traditional support structure is based on concrete pillars set in about 4m x 3.5m squares. Then they are connected on top by concrete beams. This seems very sturdy and easily supports a second floor or the roof.

The downside is the house has support pillars in the middle of the larger rooms, every 3.5m. Not a disaster, but a bit awkward. My wife also advises that one cannot sleep under one of the support beams, but that's another story.

The expat homes I've seen, while still largely in concrete, do not have so many support pillars in large rooms. How do the builders of the western-style homes build without so many pillars?

Cheers

I am no engineer but in our house they seemed to use more and better quality rebar and poured the concrete into standing molds. Smaller quicker builds may just use pre made pillars which could be less robust. We got away with spans of up to six meters between pillars but the roof spans were heavy duty steel and much longer due to the angle of the roof. We also used pilings instead of footers for anchoring the foundation.

• Like 1

You may rest assured that they will not listen to a farang and they insist on doing it their way. Even with a gun in the back of their head they won't listen to reason.

If you are considering a new house I recommend that you destroy the old one and start over using Q-Con Blocks for construction. They have pre molded windows and door frames. Easy to install, cut with a hand saw and highly insulative and sound abating. You may have seen some of these blocks they usually are about 6 x 6 inches and then 24 inches long. You can build up to 2 stories. You don't have to do any concrete pouring except the floor.