Will doing this Tefl online course help me with getting a teaching job in LOS?

I write to ask if completing the following online Tefl course will assist me with obtaining a teaching job and work permit in Thailand.....

*link edited out*

Its a 40 hour online course that satisfies the requirements of getting a visa in Indonesia. However, I am interested to know if I could later work legally in Thailand with this course.

I have a Bachelor of Economics and Post Graduate degree in Finance but no teaching qualification.

Please advise if holding all of the above qualifications will allow me to get a work visa in Thailand

thanks

Edited by Scott
Commercial links edited out

The link has been edited out. Links to commercial sites that are not sponsors is not allowed.

As mentioned, you do not need a TEFL for Thailand. If you have a Bachelor's Degree, you will be able to get a provisional teaching license.

• Like 1

I have a TESOL certificate which has helped me get many private and government contracts. I do not have an "education" type degree. I did my course in Bangkok but no one has ever asked where or how I got my certificate... just that I have one.

What I've been told by the school which hired me is that with a bachelors degree in anything I can get a work permit.

I will then need to get a Teaching License from the Thai Council of Teachers, before work permit extensions are possible.

There is a 2 year grace period in order to get the Teaching License.

The Teachers License requires either a degree in education, or a bachelor of anything plus TEFL/TESOL which must be a classroom course. The online courses are no longer recognized.

You must also complete something called Thai Ethics and Culture for Foreign Teachers, which is a three day seminar thing.

This is for a job teaching English in a primary to high school. With your post grad degree things maybe different if teaching at university. But still I think I'd do TEFL in a classroom course.