What Are The Chances Of A Non Native

Avrockx

Hello & Good Morning Thailand,

My name is AV & i am from Pakistan.I hold a Bachelors Degree in Business Administration & I have a TOEIC score of 890.I wanted to know what are the chances of me getting a teaching job here in Thailand? & it would be a huge help if someone could recommend a good teaching agency as well because being relatively new here,its not easy rolleyes.gif

Edited by metisdead
Please do not post using all caps. Topic title edited to remove all caps.

Welcome, AV!

With that high a score you should get work. At my school, a guy with a 640 score still commands 25,000 B and he is charcoal black.

Good luck - just try applying to jobs on Ajarn.com and Ajarnjobspace.com - you might get hired directly.

• Like 1

I agree with pastafarian - onlycw was just telling it how it is. And discrimination is very 'in your face' in Thailand.

What Scott said above is very corect and indeed very, very sad: "One of our best assistants is rather dark and the Director still limits her public activities and says it is because she is 'too' dark."

This happened where I worked too (and still does from what I hear - to no surprise). The white / Western looking foreign teachers were given less teaching periods per week and often had their marking / paperwork activities given to others so that they could stand around the front gate before and after school to 'bring in business'. The Filipinos were given more office work and were basically kept inside. This is reality in Thailand. A lot of Thai people do judge people according to skin colour - the lighter the better. Money is what is on the school director's mind and the activities of individual teachers is planned around just that.

• Like 1