Young, Scottish and an aspiration of living with monks.

DestinedTravel

I'll tell you a bit about myself before so you can understand why I want to do this.
I'm 19, Born in Scotland, never lived anywhere in my whole life. Always loved travelling, I've travelled china for 1 month before with my dad, was a mindblowing trip, so mindblowing at the age of 12 I didn't appreciate and understand what I was given throughout life and how different the culture is. I'm currently studying at university, had so many hopes for university, but everything has left me hanging and let me down.
From this the idea of "escaping" into thialand for my time off of university and stay if i really want to.

So this is my idea so far, I've been looking online and getting advice from my family of what to do. I've had a look to see if there was any way of contacting a temple, more specificly buddhist monks to see if I would be able to stay and live as a buddhist monk for 2 months.
There's only one website I can find but it is offering this at astronomical prices that well I just don't have.
Another idea of mine is to get a plane to thailand, have a map with all of the temples and simply walk upto them, ask if I could live as a monk.

Has anybody else embraced the buddhist monk lifestyle and lived with monks for a certain amount of time. How did you go about this? And do you have any advice for me?

Thanks,
Connor

When I was an Investment banker in Tokyo, one of the Directors (a big boy) was a 29 year old genius. He was a nice guy and a good boss. But what I remember most about him was that for one year he was a monk in the harsh Japanese-style of monkhood. I think it made him a better person. He wrote about it but I can't find it.