BTV internet at Maprachan.

monsieurhappy

I've been using BTV for internet for well over 3 years and although they're not perfect have given reasonable service.

The last few weeks I've had many disconnections which I'm certain did not come from my equipment.

The only time their "engineers" came out they changed the power lead to the modem.

This stopped the daily dissconnections but the last 3 nights the internet has been switched off at around 11.30 to be reconnected at about 7.30 the next morning. It might have been happening before the 3 days but as I was away I cannot be certain.

So what is happening now is I'm getting good internet during the day but at approx. 11.30 at night my internet is cut off until about 7.30 next morning when it miraculously comes back on again. My troubleshooter just says " DNS server not responding."

I live next to Maprachan lake, a neighbour is getting the same problem. Is anyone else getting this problem and/or what do you think is the cause and the remedy?

Call BTV and ask them about that problem.

Or be patient another day or two and the problem will probably go away. Sounds like something needs fixing/upgading and they choose night as the least disruptive time to do it.

• Like 1

Do you use skype? If so, does that work when the internet is down?

The mention to DNS in your troubleshooter could imply that internet is up but the BTV dns server is down. If so change your DNS server to google 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 which may fix it. Google will show how to change it.

DNS issues normally mean that webpages wont load but direct IP services like skype still will be ok.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Thaivisa Connect Thailand mobile app

Thanks innerspace but your fix did not work.

I changed the DNS server to Google 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 and it was working OK.

As I wasn't working or downloading anything I closed down my computer around 11.00pm.