New rules. I will need actual teaching degree to teach in Thailand?

alex88

I have a degree in human behaviour and I intend to get a celta and some volunteer teaching work for experience and then apply for jobs teaching English in Thailand.

However I have read recently in these forums that the Thai government is considering rules whereby you will be required to have an actual teaching degree in order to teach here?

Not only would this mean most English teachers in Thailand will be deported but it will also now be a futile exercise for me to consider getting work in Thailand.

Are my assumptions here correct?

• Replies 115
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

check facts first before getting paranoid.

You actually already need a teacher's license to teach in Thailand. There are exceptions but the most common way is to get a waiver. You don't need a degree in education to get a teacher's license in most countries. Many states in the US require you to take a few classes around 6-8 and take 2 Praxis tests.

Spending 1 year maximum could get you a teacher's license in your home country. In Thailand, you could take 4 tests, which are tough but not impossible,

Teachers will not be deported, they will just need to find other means. Currently there are people without degrees at all working legally even though having a degree is required technically.

• Like 1

So judging from what is being said you would say that the provisional license (Waiver) would still apply to new teachers? I wouldn't mind teaching in Thailand for just a couple of years and then move on to other better paying Asian countries and come back to Thailand later on when I have had the time and money to get a teaching license back in my home country.

It will be very difficult to do away with the provisional license, although they could alter it. They require the Thai Culture and language course, so until that is taken, most teachers would need to be on a waiver.