Newbie In Chiangmai

emogo

Hi EVeryone, I am a recent college graduate and just found out I have recieved a Fellowship in Chiangmai. I will be working with Burmese refugees within an organization called WEAVE. I am EXTREMLY excited but also getting alittle nervous. I was hoping I could recieve some information about living as an American/ ex-pat in Chiangmai. Any information about visa runs, medical stuff, food, bars/pubs etc would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in Advance!!!!

Hi EVeryone, I am a recent college graduate and just found out I have recieved a Fellowship in Chiangmai. I will be working with Burmese refugees within an organization called WEAVE. I am EXTREMLY excited but also getting alittle nervous. I was hoping I could recieve some information about living as an American/ ex-pat in Chiangmai. Any information about visa runs, medical stuff, food, bars/pubs etc would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in Advance!!!!

Well mate, first and foremost, welcome to TV (Thai Visa). I am not the most qualified perhaps to make recomendations to you, but I have been to Chiang Mai, and I will be living there myself from July.

Visa Runs to the Burmese (Myanmar) border looks pretty easy as a public bus can take you there! However, I myself am looking at teaming up with 2 more people to hire a car and driver one day a month to make the run. I think it would be much less of a chore that way, and not too much more expensive. You're welcome to join my run if you feel it worthwhile (but I'm not touting for business - I intend to make no money on this, just make the run a bit more comfortable!)