French Bread Baking At Home

I am presently in Vietnam where you can get lovely fresh baked baguettes, batons and etc. I was at the supemarket today and watched as the bakery section prepared an endless flow of the above...I was within the heaving mass wanting to get at the scrumptous crusty product and I noticed that they had an apparatus designed specifically for purpose.

In Thailand I have a basic, non-digitally controlled cooker(see the 'oven' thread elsewhere) with an oven and all the ingredients for making bread are easily obtained. As I am not a rocket scientist I presume that other expat bread lovers have considered the same question...what does it take in terms of procedure to produce nice crusty french bread? undefined please advise regarding dough preparation, raising and baking (using a mold I would presume to preserve the classic look and feel of the loaf). I am aware that there is probably loads of info on the internet but I address this to expats in Thailand that have been succesful in execution.

To those of you that would snarl 'Why come to Thailand if you want to eat bread!!!???' I would say give it a rest...as other TV threads have indicated there is a rising swell of expatriates that want prime rib, burgers, hot dogs, edible bread, english curries and etc (cue the Marseillaise/Internationale...sung by the previously oppressed but now in triumph)

beware...we have nothing to lose but our chains to inedible thai 'cuisine'...I shall take my warm and crusty product, wallop it in my Suphanburi homemade calif/texas chilli and sneer...disrespectfully...

I have made some french breads a couple of times now and we are quite pleased with the result.

You can get all the ingredients as you stated in the supermarkets and you would some breadimprover as well (tip from a genuine baker)