What is the best way to start teaching English in Thailand. What are the most common mistakes?

alexx44

Hi guys. I'm hoping you can help me.

I have a degree, and live in England. I want to teach English. There's a maze of information out there on how to get a job, and there's a lot to understand, visas, agencies, culture, location, private vs public etc.

I'm a little overwhelmed, so I thought I'd get your expert opinions wink.png.

Here's the deal. I want to get a job near to bangkok. I want it to be relatively stress free. Money is NOT a priority. I'll take a smaller salary, if I can have better hours. I'll take less money if an agency sorts out all the paperwork. I want the process to be straight forward and painless. I want to save my energy for the teaching!

So I guess I want to go with an agency. Can anyone recommend a good one. I've heard a few horror stories...

Thanks, smile.png

Alex

Edited by alexx44

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

OK here is my opinion:

DO NOT work with an agency or take a job that someone offers you over the internet. These are always the worst jobs. Who else would hire someone sight unseen! They are desperate and you are going to suffer because of it.

Arrive in Bangkok and go to interviews looking really good. Appearance is more important in Thailand than almost any place I have ever been.

The first you get will likely not be that great.

Networking is the key to getting a good job in Thailand. Let me give you an example:

I have a friend who worked at one of the best schools (great pay, top students, good hours) in Bangkok. One day we were having lunch and his phone rang. One of the teachers at his school had quit. Within 5 minutes he had called another friend, told him about the position and put him in touch with the woman who hires teachers at his school.

Once you know a lot of teachers you can find a job that meets your needs.

• Like 1