Fishing in Bangkok and Kanchanaburi

Kevin1908

Previously I have concentrated fishing at Bangsamram, Surat Thani, Ratchaprapha and Ranong areas but as in December I will have access to a car I was think of heading up to Srinakharin. Then looking at the map I see that Khao Laem is in the same area which would enable me to knock Three Pogada Pass off the list of places to see in Thailand having never explored the Western fringes much.

I am not experienced at fishing, just something I do on holiday but my eldest son is quite keen and the youngest is now taking an interest so Bangsamran is getting expensive. I have seen references to other places in Bangkok but I have no idea where they are exactly.

This year I would prefer to get straight out of Bangkok and try something new. The wife can drive now so don't need for a few days recovering in Bangkok before heading out.

So comparisons between Srinakharin and Khao Laem please. Will Three Pagoda Pass be worth it or will I be disappointed. I am definitely not into the Gillhams standard of fishing (and expense).

As above, the Bangkok hooker website is a great source of info.

My personal experience is that for a cheap and cheerful alternative to Bungsamran try Sakuna. The fish are smaller, but still numerous, and they have the odd bigger one to around 40-50kg. Its MUCH cheaper though, hundreds of baht and no two-tier pricing.

Its very 'local' though, with limited tackle (none for hire as far as I know), pretty horrible toilets, and not such a choice of food.

Its very 'local' though, with limited tackle (none for hire as far as I know), pretty horrible toilets, and not such a choice of food.

Ditto on The Bangkokhooker forum, check it out.

Sakuna does have a limited range of hire gear but quality and condition is hit and miss, especially the reels. A good strategy is to take your own reel loaded with 30 to 40 lb mono and just re-rig onto the tackle set you hire from them.