Should I stay or leave Thailand?

benj005

I'm 45 years old. I've been in Thailand for a little over 3 months now. I have a Thai girlfriend that I'm currently seeing in Bangkok. I have a degree in special education. I taught in South Korea for two years and a few years in America.

I was supposed to leave a few weeks ago but my girlfriend talked me out of it. So here I am still in Thailand. I have a teaching position lined up for me with the typical 35k baht salary per month. I also have a classroom aide position for me back hone in NJ. It only pays $10 an hour and I'm limited to 29.5 hours a week. The schools do this so they don't have to pay health benefits. Although the NJ gig doesn't pay that much, it could possibly lead to a full time teaching job. If I were to stay in Thailand I'd be making 35k baht for the year without any room for real advancement.

I guess the thing that's holding me back is my girlfriend. I pay for the rent. It's only 6k baht a month so I don't mind. That's if I'm here working. Back in America she would still expect help with the rent. She would want $100-150 a month. The other issue is the thought of not seeing her for a long time. Getting her a visa so she could come to America is going to be difficult. She's not college educated. She doesn't have a lot of money in the bank. She does have a stable job. As for me I would be starting all over again. It's going to take time to show that I'm financially capable of taking care of her. It takes times.

I've read the horror stories of foreigners running out of money and going broke in Thailand. Or just growing old in Thailand as a teacher with no real assets, no medical and no retirement.

If you were in my shoes what would you do?

Edited by benj005

• Replies 198
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images