How to open an .archive file?

WorriedNoodle

Hi I'm a newbie at Linux, but I have a data file with extension name *.archive that I need to restore *and I don't know how!*.

I have Red Hat Linux 5.xx running under VMWare on Win7. Linux seems to come with Archive Manager File Roller 2.16 that tells me file is incompatible. On Windows PeaZip cannot open it either.

Any helpers would be appreciated thanks?

With all my years of experience with Linux, I am not familiar with any Linux tool that generates an archive of file(s) with the .archive file name extension. As inquired earlier, how was this file created?

Perhaps you could glean more info about the file (and share with us) by using the 'file' utility to deduce the type of file; try this command:

file *.archive

Please post back what your system reports. Thank you.

It is possibly a .tar.gz (or similar) archive, rather than an .archive file (whatever that may be, as Gumballl suggests).

I dunno about red hat, but with debian/ubuntu derivatives, there is a standard tool that deals with archives,

Also, an archive can be deconstructed using the command line.

Maybe you could let us know where it came from - the www, or a comp using a different operating system.

If it is not confidential and not too big, maybe you could email it to one of us and we could play with it.

Cheers, AA

This might, just might, be an archive that has been created with something like Truecrypt.

If this is the case you will need Truecrypt to be able to open it. Unfortunately, you will also need the password that was used when creating the archive. No chance of opening it otherwise.

DM

With all my years of experience with Linux, I am not familiar with any Linux tool that generates an archive of file(s) with the .archive file name extension. As inquired earlier, how was this file created?

Perhaps you could glean more info about the file (and share with us) by using the 'file' utility to deduce the type of file; try this command: