Comments Please - Portrait Photo

Phra Ek

I've been trying to create a 'Studio look' in my condo and using minimal kit. Constructive comments appreciated as I'm still learning.

Natural window back-light, single off-camera flash with plastic diffuser, Lumix micro 4/3 body with 45mm prime lens. Manual settings to over-expose the background and for tight depth of field - 160 sec and f1.8.

post-215998-0-97011800-1422512349_thumb.

Phra Ek...

Nice shot with one exception...to me anyway & it may be a difference between our monitors

causing it. The lady's hair to the lower right looks like a black hole save for the hair clip shine.

A long time ago I dabbled in nudes for a bit and had the same thing happen to me on many

occasions until I started using a key light (flash or 250W gel covered film camera light) to

fill that black void and one could see the models hair...albeit dimly.

I downloaded your pic & tweaked the blacks a bit to try & show what I mean & it's just a 10

second tweak job not for proper final results but just to visualise my words. To me...in my

tweaked pic it's a tad bit too much to the lighter side however I hope you get the idea.

Many of the models I worked with in the past, once I lit the hair, always said they liked the

pix beter since their hair didn't look like a black, brown, blonde rag on top of their heads!

If you have a gratious model to work with who can give you some free time try & fill that

black blob/hole just a little bit. No proper light? Try using a table lamp between 40W-100W

with a reflector mounted behind the lamp...perhaps bent a bit also to shape the beam towards

her hair. Experiment!

No model available, cash running low? Use pillows & a cheapo wig!

This is just my opinion mind you. The rest of your pic is really nice.

Apols for the lady's skin tone in my quick adjust...as it was done very quick.

post-146250-0-82370200-1422514588_thumb.