Money transfer and investment

I am moving to Thailand on a Retirement Visa and have 200,000 pounds in a UK bank account.
Does anyone have any investment advice as to what to do with this sum?
I know I have to keep 800,000 baht (or more) in a Thai account. My UK bank (Halifax)
charges 9.50 pounds each time money is transferred to Thailand on-line. Do other
banks offer better rates in anyone's experience?
As you can tell, I am a novice at this but want to be best prepared. Thanks for any and all
practical advice!

as rates are not that good at the moment they are still better than the uk.

if you qualify to open accs.in thailand there is still fair rates to be had.

if the interest you make is to cover exs.or just to top up your pension do your sums as its not getting any cheaper to live here,there's always something just around the corner,exspecially health cover or hospital visits.

you are allowed 150,000bht.interest yearly before you have to pay tax.

so 200,000gbp.should give you around 275,000bht.if lucky 300,000bht.interest,so you will pay i think its 5%tax on the next 150,000bht.

You don't need to keep 800,000 Baht in the bank if you have sufficient pension income to meet requirements (65,000 Baht/month).

Are the GBP 200,000 your only savings? If so, I'd suggest you are cautious with your money. In the greater scheme of things it's not very much.

If you're planning on spending the rest of your life in Thailand, then switching it all to Baht is a good idea since it eliminates any currency risk. (Many pensioners here came to live when the exchange rate was above 70. It subsequently fell to below 50. This caused some of them a fair bit of grief.)

The bad news is that any safe investment in Thailand is not going to keep pace with inflation and the value of your money will be eroded over the years and decades. If you're able to save a little from your pension income that will help.