visa for Kiwi crossing Thailand to Myanmar

I'm on a New Zealand passport and my gf on a Thai one. Do we need visas before we arrive at the Myanmar border or can we get them when we arrive. What is the best way into the country? We are in BKK but don't mind catching train north or south. Will fly if need be but being a photographer I prefer slower means of travel. We want to get to Mandalay and do the multi day river cruise then we after Myanmar head to see family in Chiang Rai so advice getting there appreciated also.

If you want to go any further than the border area you need to get a visa for entry to Myanmar.

Not 100% sure but I thinkThais now get a 14 day visa exempt entry.

Moving you topic to the Myanmar visa forum now.

gf will get a 14 days visa exempt on entry

u will need a visa and can do online for $50 or at the embassy in Bangkok ( same day , overnight or 2 days)

Air aisa offers a very inexpensive flight DMK to MDL

I am heading to Mandalay end of month and than train north an take the Irrawadaddy river trip down.from Myitkyina-Bhamo-Katha-Mandalay

things are changing so u need be VERY flexible

u will need a visa and can do online for $50 or at the embassy in Bangkok ( same day , overnight or 2 days)

I am heading to Mandalay end of month and than train north an take the Irrawadaddy river trip down.from Myitkyina-Bhamo-Katha-Mandalay

Wrong.

Thais need a visa if they enter via land. I also haven't heard about visa free entry for Thais if they enter by air, as that agreement hasn't yet been signed yet? But for land entry, definitely NO visa on arrival for anyone.

http://www.mizzima.com/mizzima-news/regional/item/10397-thailand-to-sign-visa-exemption-agreement-with-myanmar/10397-thailand-to-sign-visa-exemption-agreement-with-myanmar