I have successfully grown about 30 to 40 bell peppers (aka sweet peppers) directly from seeds from the fruit I purchased and ate.

Most plants have grown and are between a foot and a two feet high and most are producing fruit. However, most of the fruit is quite small, about the size of a golf ball and a lot of the fruit simply rots withing a few days.

I'm really surprised as the plants are thriving, but the fruit isn't.

This is my first time growing bell peppers and I have no idea why the fruit doesn't grow any bigger and why so much of it is rotting. Do any of you TV members have experience with growing bell peppers? Any suggestions what I can do to 1) get the fruit to grow bigger and 2) prevent it from rotting so quickly?

Much appreciate the information.

Thanking you in advance.

Most likely your seeds were from a hybrid, they will not produce anything interesting.

Get yourself quality seeds, plant in the cool season, fight off the fruit fly and other assorted bugs, you will have nice bell peppers.

You also need to make sure your soil is relatively disease free, a lot of the fungus and rot can be traced to soil pathogens.

Wood vinegar will help.

Most likely your seeds were from a hybrid, they will not produce anything interesting.

Get yourself quality seeds, plant in the cool season, fight off the fruit fly and other assorted bugs, you will have nice bell peppers.

You also need to make sure your soil is relatively disease free, a lot of the fungus and rot can be traced to soil pathogens.

Wood vinegar will help.

Thank you for the tips re wood vinegar and seeds.

Re good quality seeds: I live in Korat and I've looked in numerous stores for bell pepper seeds but to no avail. Couldn't find a single packet. Do you, by any chance, happen to know where I could buy good quality seeds? What stores carry good quailty seeds (of veggies in general, not just bell peppers). I visit BKK every few weeks, so I could look there too. Thank you.

Wood vinegar will help.