Visa B received from Vientiane embassy

Hello everybody, I’m a 24-year-old French student doing an internship in Bangkok for 6 month. As I found my internship in a rush I couldn’t manage the visa procedure in France before departure. After asking some expertise on ThaiVisa http://www.thaivisa.com/forum/topic/820632-ed-visa-application-at-immigration-office-bangkok/#entry9347145, I went to Vientiane for visa application.

Arrival in Vientiane: I flew with Laos Airlines on the late Wednesday flight (as Friday 1st of May was holiday, I had to make the application on Thursday at last) and arrived in Wattay an hour after. The airport was empty so the visa on arrival was fast. Once you pay the $30 you can go through immigration.

I booked a cheap guest house while I was waiting for my plane in Bangkok, it turned out to be very well located. In anyway, the fee for a cab transfer to the city is $7. You can get a tuk tuk but I doubt that prices vary from taxi (although they are much more expensive than in Bangkok, and MUCH slower).

Visa application and collection: Arrived before 8.30 for the opening, as I read on the forum that the waiting line could be quite long. Turned out that we were 20ish people only. Once in the embassy and after filling the application form (which I recommend to print and fill up before) you get a ticket at the counter. My number was called, the immigration officer looked at my documents and stamped my application in 2-3 minutes. Then you can pay the 2000 Bath fee at another counter. Once paid you have the receipt to give back to get your passport on the next day (which was Monday for me), then you can be pretty sure you’ll get it.

On the collection day, the embassy is open at 1pm so make sure to be in front of the visa collection building on time as well (1.30pm) as everybody's running towards the entrance door once it opens.