Which Cooking Equipment/foodstuffs To Bring From Home?

anais

I'll be in BKK for at least a year. Love Thai food and nice restaurants, but I'm a cook and I'll *need* too cook at least once a week for mental health. In the States I have a beautifully equipped kitchen, but I'm coming with 3 suitcases and a box or two shipped UPS.

Can I buy a cast-iron skillet in Bangkok? (Gotta have it for cornbread.) If not, my grandmother's is coming in a suitcase. Ditto for the good knives. Are tortilla presses available? For that matter, what about cornmeal and masa? Yogurt maker? Steel-cut oatmeal?

I do a lot of Mexican and Southern soul food ... just wondering what won't be easy to obtain.

Thanks,

Cyn

In that case, bring everything you possibly can. If you like high end cookware like copper / Mauviel it isn't here. The stuff you can find is outrageously expensive. The cookware Thai's like is as thin and light as tin foil. After searching everywhere from Siam Discovery to The Promenade to MBK to Central, etc etc I decided to import solid copper Falk cookware myself. Want good knives? About the best you can do is find some low end Henkels, but again, price is ridiculous. It's hard to get excited about buying utensils in Thailand when all you can find is average stuff at sky high prices.

The rule is ANYTHING imported in Thailand (computers, furniture, perfume, cameras, you name it) costs more than in the US. High end items are marked up the worst and you often have to pay 2x or 3x, that is if they even exist. Selection and availability is very low.

As for the food items, fill extra space and bring what fits. I can't say if all those things are available here, but even if they are, they will cost more. Villa market is probably your best bet for those type of things. You'll at least have a nice stock as you discover where to to find things.

Edited by The Coder