Verifying Degree Through British Embassy

wazza69

Let me start by saying that I am a great admirer of this board. The information posted here is invaluable to teachers in Thailand. I visit as often as I can for all the latest news and information.

I have been teaching in Thailand for a while. I have a BA degree in English and a TEFL cert with teachers license (MOE). I have recently completed a contract with a school and am checking out prospective employers.

With the recent Karr case and the MOE's insistance that schools now check out their future teachers, I have not been surprised that most schools I have contacted are asking for verification of Degrees from the University.

However, one of the schools I emailed was not interested in contacting my University, although I told them I would be happy to give them written permission. I can only assume that they weren't prepared to pay for the phone call/stamp.

Instead, they have asked that I take my documents to the British embassy for verification. I have never heard of this before. I guess it makes sense as the embassy should be able to check. Before I do anything though, I would like your members feedback.

Has anyone heard of this process before?

If yes, then what does this process involve?

How long does it take?

How much does it cost?

I looked on The British embassy website and there are lots of different kinds of verification; all with different fees. Quite a business!

Your input will be extremely welcome.

Wazza69

kenkaniff is British, and should be along shortly. But I think he's said recently that as far as he knows, the UK embassy doesn't really do that. There may be an expensive process by which they "notarize" your self-serving statement with a meaningless statement that they saw you say that. I'm using American terms; don't know the British term.