Sweet basil (O. basilicum)

I'm not sure if this is the correct place to post this question. Mods, feel free to move this to the Thai language section if that is more appropriate.

What is "sweet basil' aka Italian long leaf basil" in Thai?

Thanking you in advance.

Horapha, often pronounced Wholapha.

Thank you for replying, I much appreciate it. I am by no means an expert in this, but I'm pretty sure "horapha" (ใบโหระพา) is Thai basil (O. basilicum var. thyrsiflora), a subvariant of O. basilicum, and not to be confused with Sweet basil (aka Italian long leaf basil).

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Basil

You’re right Djayz. Horapha is indeed Thai sweet basil and the Italian one you’re looking for is a different plant altogether.

Having said that, they look very similar but the aroma and flavour are very different.Additionally, the Thai version has a slightly thicker leaf and, to my mind, a coarser flavour.

As far as cooking is concerned, they are definitely not interchangeable. Thai basil in a tomato sauce with pasta just does not work. Similarly Italian Basil doesn’t have the requisite punch to accompany Thai food.

The short answer to your original question is that there is no Thai name for Italian sweet basil, although “horapha farang” would seem appropriate.

We have 2 or 3 Italian basil plants growing nicely at the moment and my wife has been struck by the different aroma they give off, therefore she has named them “horapha hom” meaning scented basil.

Hope this helps

You’re right Djayz. Horapha is indeed Thai sweet basil and the Italian one you’re looking for is a different plant altogether.

Having said that, they look very similar but the aroma and flavour are very different.Additionally, the Thai version has a slightly thicker leaf and, to my mind, a coarser flavour.