No fail grading system.

padkrapow

Hi

I am a new teacher working for a Government primary school teaching English. I receive very little information or help regarding the grades & curriculum despite my efforts to request it!

I have been told that the students 'can't fail'. I don't really understand this and I'm not getting any clarification. Can any teachers shed some light on this in regards to grading the students.

• Replies 95
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I think it's the same in many schools (certainly mine)

I give the honest mark to the best of my knowledge and simply explain that I won't be changing it. What they choose to do with that grade is entirely up to them.

As sad as this sounds, don't fight it. It would be like banging your head against a brick wall.

"You think too much, na. Too seriut"

Whenever this is brought up its always good for a huge laugh. Usually, its frustrated teachers who 20-40 years ago would have been failing themselves. Thus may not be the op, jus sayin...

In the US many, many students are passed thru levels who go on to graduate and are functional illiterates. Why not here? Judging by the genius UK teachers I've taught with only one graduated university, that's about 7%.

So why the stress bro? Education isn't really important to you either.

Further, how, where is this third world education system going to provide remedial services and whose paying? No one ever brings up this gem.

Moreover, I hate blaming the system, I won't, but here I cut some slack. These kids have poor teachers, crap books, one hundred white faces, Filipino and N English accects, 40C heat in the class, poverty, family issues, peer pressures...and you want to shitcan their grade because they did not do X and Y in your class. Hope you have a ton of professional experience to make that assessment. Your tests and teaching, etc...not saying here it was you but maybe in part it was. First year teachers Im lookjng so hard at you. The tefl flunkies.