Video of how to save the 50 Baht and not have to queue for a taxi

sammym

I know this will get some scorn and ridicule from many on here. But for someone who is just visiting it might be helpful. It also shows the lengths the driver goes too, to make more money than the meter. For those who think I'm tight i did in the end give him a tip. I just wanted to see if you could do it. Apologies for the annoying squeaky voice - I'd just had a 19 hour flight :)

• Replies 139
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am brand new to Thailand and I heard this expression, "Cheap Charlie".

Something tells me you are the man to ask when it comes to a definition.

Well with that post count I am guessing you are not that new to Thailand. But as I've pointed out - it's about time saving as well. The last time I came to Thailand I had to wait 45 minutes in a line for a taxi, this time I just walked straight through. I also pointed out I did tip the driver.

Well done Sammy, I can see you are not a 'cheap Charlie'. I think maybe post #2 just wants to make you look a tight-wad, because he didn't think of doing that himself. Why do these people think it's ok for taxi drivers, and many other rip-off merchants to scam tourists and even expats from their money. As like you said, it's more the principal than the actual money involved, and a time saver.

Well done mate, welcome back to Thailand....

So freaking sad.

So after 19 hour flight, you would want to have more headache to save $1.50 just to see if you could save $1.50

I guess different people have different priorities.

I've said twice in this thread and atleast once in the video that it's not about the money. I could have gone and waited in a line with my bag on, then had someone fill in a form for me and then hand the form to someone else who then walked me to a car... I chose instead to stand on an escalator (could use lift) and walk 20m to talk for around 30 seconds to be on my way.