Traveling in Bangkok by Taxi

Mr Kie

Taxi in Thailand

Hi guys, I’m a Thai taxi driver in Bangkok, here i like to give you guys an idea of how much Thai taxi will cost based on meter, this price is updated in 2015. first start with 35 Baht then will increase 5.5 baht/km up to first 12 km. then price will rise up again 6 Baht/km for a certain distance and if you take more than 80 km it will cost you 8 Baht/km (this is the maximum rate/km). If you got in a very bad traffic, the car moving slower than 5 km/h then the meter will count per minute which is now 2 Bath/minute. If it’s moving faster than 5 km/h, the meter will count based on kilometer.

Normally the taxi rate chart will be available and usually hanged on the backside of the front seat. If you guys sit on the back seat will definitely see the taxi rate hanging in front of you.

You can simply check whether the meter is right or not by checking how far you have been or the distance from where you stay and the place you wanted to go. For example if your hotel is about 10 km from the airport and you wanted to go to the airport. Then you can predict that the taxi will cost you based on meter = 35 + (9x5.5) = 85 Baht (if there is no traffic). However if you are in a bad traffic and the car is moving slower than 5 km/h for about 10 minutes then you will be charged an extra of = 2 x 10 = 20Baht so which such a distance plus bad traffic, the total rate will be around 105 Baht.

Be noted about the taxi rate in Bangkok or elsewhere in Thailand, there is no night time rate or day time rate, it are all the same rate. The only thing that you will be charged extra is when you access to the highway or expressway. Normally the taxi driver will ask you to pay directly to the highway officer, and you will get the receipt right after.

Hope this info will be useful for you guys, and if you got more questions just let me know. I'm happy to get back to all of your questions or concerns