Teacher Evaluations

I am still trying to get a grips with the way some places do their teacher evaluations. Normally, in pro-active schools it is done by the heads and the coordinators. In university it is done by students. This is what I would consider normal and a standard back in my country where I am a qualified teacher. I just cannot come to terms that in Thailand, in secondary government schools, it is done by the students and more importantly right after exams. I am blown away by the fact that, just like in the days of the Romans where a thumbs down meant death, that today teachers are subjugated to the whims of teenagers. By having teachers evaluated right after exams doesn't that send out the message to the students that their teachers are at their mercy? Moreover, doesn't that send the message that in order to keep your job you must keep the kids happy and that they must all get good grades? --or else?

In doing so, admins in Thailand are tying the hands of their foreign teachers behind their backs. When I say foreign, I mean that in Thai government schools (correct me if I am wrong) the Thai teachers have tenure and again correct me if I am wrong... they are not evaluated by the students.

Edutainment is the way of the future and puppets on strings are we. I heard that the o-net results are out and they are already looking for ways to solve the poor education here. Maybe if the Thai teachers submitted themselves to the same treatment they submit us to they would start to see why it is impossible to get anything done.

Just my two cents...

• Like 1

This is the second secondary school I see do this. Bear in mind, it is only the foreigners that get evaluated.

Horrendous? To say the least. This is taking empowerment to a whole new level. The thing is, it is done without the teachers knowing the criteria on which they are being evaluated and that seems to add a page of unfairness to the already crappy crap book that this <deleted> is.