Newbie Mint query

bluesofa

I’m a Linux newbie, with definite emphasis on the word “newbie”. A couple of years ago I went back to the UK for a few months and a friend installed Mint Cinnamon 64 bit for me.

Being a programmer, he’s more technical than me, but even he couldn’t get it working properly, despite telling me Linux was the best thing since sliced bread.

I’m not having a pop at Linux here, just my observation that I feel that Linux is not just for regular PC users.

Having used Windows for 20-odd years, I know(-ish) how things work. But Linux is a different kettle of fish, very scary to me, as I have absolutely no understanding of what anything does or how it works. It took me ages to realise when told “go into terminal mode” it meant the same as opening a Dos-box in Windows.

I uninstalled Mint as I ran out of disk space before. Now I’m having a second attempt. Installed Cinnamon again (dual booting with W7), managed to get it to upgrade to 17.3. I wanted to run Thunderbird and Lightning Calendar on both systems, hoping I could share the same email data on my Windows data partition.

I asked on one of the mint forums if I could do this, and was told I could.

I asked in the newbie section, and they went into great detail about using programs I’d never even heard of, let alone knew what they were or how to use them, so I was completely lost.

The more important problems I have are, 1) I can’t adjust the screen brightness, and 2) I can’t get the internal speakers to work (both OK on W7). However, if I plug in the headphones I can hear the audio.

I’m using a laptop, Gateway 1D57H.

I doubt if there’s somewhere in the Udon area competent to solve these two issues?

I'd give up on trying to Thunderbird through 2 separate OS's, for now anyway.

For the other stuff,I'd suggest to try running Linux from a bootable USB, see if the problem still exists. There's a good chance everything will work and you can just do a fresh install.