Very unusual conditions in my contract. Help needed

Hello!

I was at a loss, considering what to do, until I discovered this forum. Your input appreciated guys.

So, I was offered a job as an ESL teacher at an international school in Bangkok. Not a first tier one but I did my research and they are legitimate and decent. The pay is good. Very good. Light years better than any government /language school and they will pay for my visas, work permits, TOEIC (I am a non NES). They don t offer anything else in terms of housing/relocation/tickets allowance but it' s a very good "cash in hand" situation and given the fact that I am an ESL and not a content teacher, I am very happy with this part of deal.

And just to prevent any comments about my non NES status, I have a degree in Linguistics from a British uni, of course a CELTA and Modules 1 and 3 of the DELTA. So, I am qualified and the school assured me (I believe them) that they are a registered school and that as long as I provide them with all the documents, there will be no problem at all issuing teacher's license, work permit and all. So far, so good. However..... they sent me the contract a couple of days ago and I noticed some very unusual conditions.

For one, they want three months notice in case I want to terminate my contract and failure to do so will result in the school withholding 2 salaries. This is kinda harsh but what raised red flags is the fact that this includes the probationary period! In other words if after a month I decide that I do not want to work for the school for one reason or the other, I have to pay them the equivalent of one salary from my pocket! They also say that if I pull a runner they will seek legal action etc. I can understand this part but the three months and 2 salaries including probation ting is weird now, isn't it?