Too many visa waiver entries?

I have been coming to Thailand for the last 8+ years, ~ 7 times a year staying for 10-21 days at a time. I have never applied for a visa just come in on the 30 day waiver for Aus citizens.

In April I stayed 30 days and arrived on Thursday last week for another 30 days only to be refused entry. Never even 1 single day overstay ever.

After much arguing I was eventually let in but told I would have to apply for a visa in Australia next time if I wanted to come again. They told me the automatic 30 days for Aus citizens was only allowed 3 times a year. When I asked them how exactly I was supposed to know this before I arrived they laughed and said I should have asked them...

BTW this wasn't flagged by the immigration officer, he showed me the screen where the system had automatically flagged me.

If I am pushed to get a METV for $225 in future then so be it but as I never stay more than 30 days it seems pointless. My more immediate problem is I have to go to China for business for 3 days June 18-21 and then back to BKK which means another argument when I arrive. Is there actually any set limit on the number of times you can come in on a 30 day visa waiver? Is it published anywhere?

Thanks

• Like 1

There is no written limit on the number of visa exempt entities you can do over any period of time.

Immigration gets an alert at 6 entries. The officer then should review your history to see if you have been doing in/out visa runs to live here on exempt entries.

Not sure where the office officer came up with the 3 entry limit.

They cannot deny you entry for having to many entries. They can only do it under section 12 of the immigration act. The most common reason is lack of financial proof and/or suspicion of working here. Having the equivalent of 20k baht in cash would take care of the financial proof. Some proof of income from outside the country would help for the other.

• Like 2