Plastic Injection Moulding for Small Run

Hi TV,

I'm looking for a company that does something similar to this:

http://www.wired.com/2013/01/protomold/

Protomold has stepped in to provide servicing to those makers who need small orders by being able to produce 50-5,000 injection-molded parts in one business day with prices starting at $1,495 for a production tool, and each produced part costing a couple dollars or less. The experience isn't much different than ordering business cards online. A designer uploads their CAD file, chooses from a few preset options, and shelf-worthy injection-molded parts arrive on their doorstep.

I've been working on a new invention and am thinking about taking it to the next level. I have some capital I can put into this project but I need help with the mould design and finding a company that would allow me to make small runs, and likely a lot of changes through the prototyping phase.

I have zero experience in product design or plastic injection moulding.

All tips and suggestions welcomed.

Regards

SM

Thanks Impulse. I understand making tools and moulds is very expensuve thats why i offered up the specific example of Protomold.

They specialize is one off small runs and offer very affordable rates

Just wondering if anyone has dealt with a similar company here that works with small time guys like me.

Thanks

SM

If you want change and modify the design as you develop it you should be looking at 3D printing instead.

Once you have finalised your design and want to do large production runs then create a mold.

Good Points. After some late night research, this is the route I'm currently attempting to take.