Where/How to find teaching english job without TEFL/TESOL

Hello all,

First post here. Recently returned from Chiang Rai after spending a month teaching English as a few primary schools and to monks at a Buddhist temple. I was often thrown out there by myself and although challenging, I got enjoyed it and got a lot of positive feedback and am hoping to return as a contract teacher. I am hoping to land a job without TEFL/TESOL certification.

Where are you located ?

Do you have a degree ?

You cannot work legally without a degree but of course you can easily find work in a language school or via an agency under contract. Schools will not likely hire you directly unless you can qualify for a work permit (degree holder).

TEFL is immaterial and not required legally anywhere.

Thanks for the replies. I have a University degree. However, many of the jobs I have looked at are asking for TEFL certificate...Anyone have experience going through an agency?

While a TEFL is not a legal requirement, many schools prefer a TEFL school grad especially when hiring via an agency. Something about having a bit of teaching techniques / education experience. Perhaps you can convince someone that your month in Chiang Rai is a substitute for that experience.

A TEFL only takes a month of your time ...why fight the tide ?

You can of course call any agency and ask if they will place you, but with or without TEFL the agency jobs are generally in government schools and are pretty much standard government school fare.

I have worked via an agency before. It is ok..but always preferable not to.

A months course and you can be part of developing a childs education.

This is nothing short of criminal.

But some people say the way Thai English teachers with 4-year degrees do their job in nothing short of criminal, so what can we do?