Small Vegetable Patch.

I am thinking of starting a small piece of ground for growing only carrots, pumpkin, and white raddish, I think it is called.

This will only be for myself, to make probably about two pots of veg in a week.

My questions are, roughly, how many square mtrs of ground should I prepare?

How should I prepare it for planting seeds, and where can I buy seeds? I am a complete novice at this.

Can I grow these three vegs that I mentioned on the same small patch of ground?

Your help would be much appreciated. Thank you.

Hello All, you might give some idea to what area you

live in, as I live in Korat and that's where I know where

to find seed and supplies.

It also helps if you can give a rough description of the

soil you'll be growing in.

rice555

I have difficulties growing pumpkin due to insect attack, and I can't make carrots grow at all. In the end you will have to try out different crops and see what works; what works in the rainy season might not work at other times.

As Rice555 states, the state of the soil before you start sowing is important, you need to keep going at it until the soil particles are about the same size as the seeds, I always take it easy with organic fertilisers until the seedlings have emerged. If you can work your soil now in the rainy season, you are doing well. Maybe you can't.

Weed the plot, dig it over, breaking up the clods as you go, level it with a spade, level it with a rake, breaking the clods again, and there you go. Carrots won't want too much cow manure, pumpkins like it... you'll have to google all that and experiment.

I live in Korat and can't get a single carrot to grow here. Raddish, tomatoes, beans, etc. florish. What you can grow will depend on the time of year (too wet, too dry), soil and vegetable. Some veggies simply won't grow in one particular area, but will do well in a different province.