Self-taught snake catcher nabs five-meter-long king cobra

rooster59

Self-taught snake catcher nabs five-meter-long king cobra

Kritsada Mueanhawong

1_2016917141220714_edpnzTnuGffRGrCALmCAYJwGINNUzZueDjSCCGxJ_jpeg.jpeg

KOH LANTA: A five-meter long king cobra discovered by an 11-year-old girl was caught by a Koh Lanta local yesterday evening.

Worawut Longasun says he has trained himself to capture snakes by watching videos on television and YouTube.

The snake was found in the storage area of Aree Wansuk’s house by her daughter who spotted the reptile’s tail while playing with her friends nearby.

“My daughter ran up to me and insisted that she saw a black snake in the storage area,” said Ms Aree. 

“I didn’t know what kind of snake it was, so I called on the village headman for help. He then notified Mr Worawut, our village’s snake catcher.”

Full story: http://www.phuketgazette.net/phuket-news/Selftaught-snake-catcher-nabs-fivemeterlong-king-cobra/65586?desktopversion#ad-image-0

pgazette_logo.jpg
-- © Copyright Phuket Gazette 2016-09-18

6 hours ago, sirineou said:

Good to see a self made man. Non of this , spending years in snake caching school for him.

Not years, I did a two day course while working in the Australian desert. The biggest snake I caught was a 2 metre brown, kudos to the man for taking on the 5 metre monster!!

1 hour ago, elgordo38 said:

Lets hope he released the snake in the jungle and it did not end up on the kitchen table. Our wildlife is disappearing at an alarming rate  especially our large ocean mammals. As Bugs Bunny use to say "Thats all folks!"

According to a linked article in the OP's link, he released the last one that put him in the news.  Hopefully, this one, too.

http://www.phuketgazette.net/phuket-news/YouTube-video-helps-nab-30kg-king-cobra/63508#ad-image-1

Nonetheless, the reptile was released back into the forest for fear that keeping it would only lure more snakes into the area.