Fishing And Equipment

macb

Are you new to this sport I am: So hoping we can get ideas and from the experts who have been at it for years:

My first question is anyone doing fishing in the bore holes on there farm? If so which is best bait and is a float better cos I dont know

Well I dont know the Thai names for the fish cos I am new to fishing, have a look at daily diary for Issan theeres a thread there as well .

Iwant to know about bore fishing, I am using float and Alpha bait single hook, I have a multi hook with wire cage for bait but been told not to use this in the bore ???

Any hints you fishing people

I'm a lazy fisherman and use shrimp on a single fairly large hook, a sliding lead weight with no float. Most fish will bite on shrimp. My wife uses the wire spring cage with the commercial bait you buy in a shop and a float. The bait is normally a green or tan colored powder that you put water with to make a putty. That rig has up to six small hooks and is a pain to bait. Small fish are able to strip the bait off quickly. She does catch more fish than I do but I at least have time to relax and drink beer. Yesterday she caught three pla tabtim while I caught only one pla nin but my pla nin weighed 2 and a half kilo. I have also tried squid for bait but had no success.

To use the wire cage, the normal way is to form a ball of the bait around the cage, squeeze it into the cage and mold it as firmly as you can. You then press the sharp little hooks into the molded ball. I always manage to get stuck several times with those sharp little hooks. My wife has more patience than I do. That bait doesn't work well at all with a single hook. It comes off way to easy.

Happy fishing!